Voting is now open!

Voting for members of the IFLA Public Libraries Standing Committee for the 2019-2023 term is now open. All financial members of the Public Libraries Section are eligible to vote and the ballot papers have been posted out by IFLA Headquarters. Voting closes on 29 March 2019.

We are excited to announce that  18 people have nominated to be members of our Standing Committee. Sadly we only have 9 vacancies.

To help you make an informed decision we asked each of the nominees to tell us a little about themselves and why they are standing for election. Over the next few days we will be gradually posting these on our Blog and on Facebook. Please take the time to read them.

Our Standing Committee is very active and geographically distributed to give us links into the wider public library community. Our continuing members will be:

Lo Claesson (Sweden); Montserrat Espunga (Spain); Leikny Indergaard (Norway); Corinne Hill (USA); Pirkko Lindberg (Finland) Sue Considine (USA); Margaret Allen (Australia) Ismea Meic (Croatia); Lenka Pruckova (Czech Republic); Spaska Tarandova (Bulgaria); Qiang Xu (China).

We also have 5 Corresponding Members who are eligible to stand for a second, two year term:

Rursudan Asatiani (Georgia); Sarah Dudek (Germany); Mark Freeman (UK); Fatemeh Pazooki (Iran); Shaddy Shadrach (India).

So take the time to read about our candidates and make an informed decision. Make your vote count!

Jan Richards
Chair IFLA Public Libraries Standing Committee