EIFL launches 2017 Public Library Innovation Awards


Our friends at EIFL have announced a new EIFL Public Library Innovation Award – for public library services that improve lives.
All public and community libraries in developing and transition economy countries may apply. The deadline for applications is 27 January 2017.

Libraries that apply must use information and communication technology (ICT) to improve lives in their communities by addressing any of the following issues, which are included in the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development:

  • Economic wellbeing and employment
  • Farming and sustainable agriculture
  • Health and hygiene
  • Digital inclusion
  • Gender equality and empowerment of women and girls
  • Education for all
  • Climate change and other issues affecting the environment


The prize includes US$1,500 and wide publicity through EIFL’s global communication channels and networks.
Applications will be accepted in English, French, Russian and Spanish. Further details are available at the EIFL website.