Author Archives: socialmedia

APDEN International membership

APDEN – the national association of French professeurs documentalistes – is pleased to inform you that it is now possible for teachers in charge of a school library abroad to subscribe to our organization.
The organization which was founded in 1972 and which is open to teachers in secondary schools as well as higher education is a place of reflection concerning our practice and also about the future of the profession.

Every third year, a congress of professeurs documentalistes is organised. The last one was held in Limoges in october 2015 on the subject : “Teaching information and documentation : Didactic process and teaching approaches in order to develop a culture of information amongst students.”

Twice a year, APDEN also publishes the professional journal MEDIADOC which is devoted to the important issues that underline our profession. The aim is to publicize the professeurs documentalistes working/teaching practises as well as scientific research (researchers, teacher training, doctors thesis) that feed the fields of education and the information and communication sciences.
Each issue is centered on a theme that is built according to the current problems that cross the professional culture of the professeurs documentalistes. Various contributions and also texts concerning the international context are welcome within the pages

The subscription includes participating in the mailing lists as well as the two Mediadoc issues for a year.
The membership form is attached along with the different rates. For information, Three rates are applied according to the geographical zone :
– 40 euros for zone A
(Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belgium, Brunei, Canada, China/Hong Kong, China/Macao, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Qatar, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom, UK/Bermuda, UK/British Virgin Islands, UK/Cayman, UK/England, UK/Gibraltar, UK/Falkland, UK/North Ireland, UK/Scotland, UK/Wales, United Arab Emirates, USA, USA/Virgin Islands.)

– 20 euros for zone B
(Algeria, Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Cook Islands (New Zealand), Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, France/French Guinea, France/French Polynesia, France/Guadeloupe, France/Martinique, France/New Caledonia, France/Reunion, France/St. Pierre & Miquelon, Gabon, Grenada, Hungary, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (USA), Nauru, Neth. Antilles, Oman, Panama, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russia, Seychelles, Slovakia, South Africa, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Turkey, Turkmenistan, UK/Anguilla, UK/Montserrat, UK/Saint Helena, UK/Turks and Caicos, Uruguay, USA/American Samoa, USA/Guam, USA/Northern Marianas, USA/Palau, USA/Puerto Rico, Venezuela)

– 10 euros for zone C
(Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina., Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Rep, Chad, China, Cocos (Keeling) Islands (Australia), Colombia, Comoros Islands, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Dem Rep of Congo, Djibouti, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, France/Wallis et Futuna, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lesotho, Liberia, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Myanmar, Marshall Islands (USA), Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Niue, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Rwanda, Samoa, Sao Tome/Principe, Senegal, Serbia/Montenegro, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Surinam, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, West Bank/Gaza Strip, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.) For this zone the Mediadoc journal is only sent by email on PDF format.

Here is the link to the membership form :…/Bulletin_adhesion_2019-international…

For any question please don’t hesitate to contact the APDEN to the following email address :
Best wishes
Valérie Glass
In charge of international relationships for APDEN

A.P.D.E.N (Association of French Teacher librarians) national congress in Grenoble (France)

The 11th congress of French teacher librarians « professeurs documentalistes » of State secondary schools will be held this year, from the 22nd to the 24th of March 2019.

We are pleased to announce you that registrations are now officially opened !

Online registration process : go to the official congress website

You can now find on it the following information:

We wish to see you in Grenoble !

For the national board of A.P.D.E.N

Valérie Glass

Launch of the website “Profession : prof doc” about French teacher librarians

The A.P.D.E.N (Association of French teachers librarians of State secondary schools) is very pleased to announce you the launch of the website called « Profession : prof doc » (in english : « Profession : teacher librarians »).

The website is available on :

This website is intended for those who wish to know more about French professeurs documentalistes, to update their knowledge about the profession and to confront their representations to official texts and the reality of school practices.

4 sections are available on this website : the profession in short (statut, missions….), statistical data (number of teacher librarians in public and private schools….), field surveys (conducted by the A.P.D.E.N) and words from teacher librarians (webradios podcasts).

For the national board of A.P.D.E.N

Valérie Glass