Monthly Archives: January 2019

Children’s Literature Heritage

Celebrate Your Children’s Literature Heritage with a Literary Landmark

2019 marks the 100thAnniversary of Children’s Book Week, an event sponsored by theChildren’s Book Counciland Every Child A Reader.  Since 2015 communities around the country have celebrated Children’s Book Week by dedicating a Literary Landmark plaque a site that has a connection to a children’s author or a particular children book.  The Literary Landmark Register is a project of United for Libraries, a division of the American Library Association.   

Children’s Book Week will be April 29 – May 5, 2019. There are already two landmarks planned in New York State being coordinating by the Empire State Center for the Book.  The 100thAnniversary of Children’s Book Week will be celebrated throughout 2019 so Literary Landmarks can be dedication throughout the year.  Robert McCloskey(Ohio), Walter Dean Myers(New York), Barbara Cooney(Massachuetts) and Margaret Wise Brown(Rhode Island) have all been recognized in past years.

Information about Children’s Book Week may be found at: 

Information regarding Literary Landmarks may be found at :

UIL blog on community libraries

Lisa Krolak, UIL librarian coauthored this blog with Isabelle Mischke, which talks about the critical role that community libraries can play in promoting literacy development and lifelong learning, highlighting the work of selected community libraries in Africa and Asia that are part of the ALADIN network.


Literacy Awards Competition

We are pleased to share with you the call for applications for the 2019 U.S. Library of Congress (LOC) Literacy Awards. Applications will be accepted for the 2019 Library of Congress Literacy Awards beginning January 14, and the deadline for applications is March 8, 2019.

There are 3 separate awards: The David M. Rubenstein Prize, The American Prize, and the International Prize, all described in the attached application form. Please refer to the web page at for further instructions.