Children’s Literature Heritage

Celebrate Your Children’s Literature Heritage with a Literary Landmark

2019 marks the 100thAnniversary of Children’s Book Week, an event sponsored by theChildren’s Book Counciland Every Child A Reader.  Since 2015 communities around the country have celebrated Children’s Book Week by dedicating a Literary Landmark plaque a site that has a connection to a children’s author or a particular children book.  The Literary Landmark Register is a project of United for Libraries, a division of the American Library Association.   

Children’s Book Week will be April 29 – May 5, 2019. There are already two landmarks planned in New York State being coordinating by the Empire State Center for the Book.  The 100thAnniversary of Children’s Book Week will be celebrated throughout 2019 so Literary Landmarks can be dedication throughout the year.  Robert McCloskey(Ohio), Walter Dean Myers(New York), Barbara Cooney(Massachuetts) and Margaret Wise Brown(Rhode Island) have all been recognized in past years.

Information about Children’s Book Week may be found at: 

Information regarding Literary Landmarks may be found at :

0 Responses to “Children’s Literature Heritage”

Comments are currently closed.