Monthly Archives: September 2013

Jane Addams Children’s Book Awards

On October 18, 2013, in New York City,  authors and illustrators will be honored with Jane Addams Children’s book Awards.  This year the ceremony also celebrates the publication of The Jane Addams Children’s Book Award: Honoring Children’s Literature for Peace and Social Justice since 1953 (Scarecrow Press, 2013), a book about the Addams Award written for teachers, librarians and scholars. For additional information about the Jane Addams Children’s Book Awards and a complete list of books honored since 1953, see   For more information about the Award event, contact JAPA Executive Director Linda B. Belle, 777 United Nations Plaza, 6th Floor, New York, NY 10017-3521; 212-682-8830;

Canadian book award finalists

The Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) is pleased to announce the finalists for its seven major children’s book awards:

  • TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award  ($30,000)
  • Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeunesse  ($30,000)
  • Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award  ($20,000)
  • Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction  ($10,000)
  • Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People  ($5,000)
  • John Spray Mystery Award  ($5,000)
  • Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy  ($5,000)

The winners will be announced at the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Awards and Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeunesse – two invitation-only gala events in Toronto on October 22 and Montreal on October 29. Overall, $130,000 in prize monies will be awarded. The nominated books exemplify some of the best work by Canadian authors and illustrators. The Canadian Children’s Book Centre is proud to share these titles and the juries’ notes.

For the first time ever, TD is partnering with CBC Books to present the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Fan Choice Award. Young readers will be asked to pick their favourite book from the shortlisted TD Award titles in an online poll starting on Monday, September 9. The book with the most votes will win, and one lucky entrant will win a trip to Toronto to present the award at the gala ceremony on October 22. The event will be hosted by Shelagh Rogers, host of The Next Chapter on CBC Radio One.  Look for all the details regarding the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Fan Choice Award and enter the contest starting Monday, September 9 at CBC Books (

UNESCO International Literacy Prize winners

The winners of the 2013 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes were announced on 22 August. Two of the award-winning programmes are featured in UIL’s Effective Literacy Practices Database (LitBase).


The Saakshar Bharat (Literate India) Mission will receive one of the two UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prizes. Run by the National Literacy Mission Authority of the Ministry of Human Resource Development, the programme aims to promote and strengthen adult learning in India.


The Dhaka Ahsania Mission in Bangladesh is among the three UNESCO Confucius Literacy Prizes winners. The “Ganokendra” (People’s Centre) Programme they implement provides all community members with skills training opportunities.  Every year, UNESCO awards two International Literacy Prizes (the King Sejong Prize and the Confucius Prize) to excellent and innovative institutions, organisations and individuals in the field of literacy throughout the world. The other winners of this year include literacy programmes from Chad, Côte d’Ivoire and Namibia.  Please visit UIL’s LitBase to learn more about the winners and nominees of the UNESCO Literacy Prizes.