Brill/IFLA Open Access Award (monographs)

The PC is sending a last-minute reminder about the new Brill/IFLA Open Access award.  A first call was issued on IFLA-L by Stuart Hamilton on March 14th, 2013 and the IFLA Web site carries a news item dated April 15th, 2013 with all the details:

This is a Professional Award created to reward initiatives that facilitate and/or promote Open Access scholarly monographs in the humanities or social sciences.  It aligns perfectly with IFLA’s stated position on Open Access, and with Brill’s open access policy.  Nominees can be suggested by the owners of a project, as well as by third parties, e.g. by authors, who published their monograph in the framework of the OA initiative.

This award is particularly timely, as not a week passes without announcements of new OA books, as well as initiatives, projects, funding awards, and forward plans.  These originate with a number of publishers, entities such as consortia, national libraries, societies, and more.  A search engine search on “open access monographs” now yields over 1M hits.  One known, useful source for information about such ventures is the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB), a service of OAPEN Foundation – which is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.  At the moment you can search for over 1400 individual books produced by nearly 50 publishers.  So, in addition to the projects already known to you, do browse through their site:

The deadline for submissions is next week, 30 April 2013, with a decision communicated to winner on: 31 May 2013.  Please don’t let this historical moment pass by without giving the award some thought and sending your applications and nominations to:

We look forward to congratulating the first Awardee in Singapore!

Ann Okerson

Chair of IFLA’s Professional Committee

0 Responses to “Brill/IFLA Open Access Award (monographs)”

Comments are currently closed.