Libraries, Advocacy and the Implementation of the 2030 Agenda

Free webinar on December 15, 2015.

IFLA Continuing Professional Development and Workplace Learning and the New Professionals SIG with the Management of Library Associations Section have partnered with the American Library Association to present a one-hour webinar supporting the new IFLA Toolkit, “Libraries and the Implementation of the 2030 Agenda.”

We believe libraries are extremely important for sustainable development and would like to encourage you to attend this online event featuring best practices and models to advocate for access to information.

IFLA has launched a new toolkit which will help you to advocate to your national and regional policy makers to make sure that libraries and access to information are included as part of national and regional development plans that will contribute to meeting the global 2030 Agenda.  As these plans are developed, the library community in each country will have a clear opportunity to communicate to their government leaders how libraries serve as cost-effective partners for advancing their development priorities. Advocacy is essential now to secure recognition for the role of libraries as engines of local development, and to ensure that libraries receive the resources needed to continue this work. The process will be different in each country, and many have already decided how the SDGs will be implemented nationally. http://www.ifla.org/node/9989

In order to help advocates, librarians and library associations show that they can drive progress across the entire 2030 Agenda, IFLA is encouraging all library advocates to take action now. Join us as our colleagues share information that would help you to place libraries on national development agendas.

  • Fiona Bradley, IFLA Manager of Development Programmes, will discuss the new IFLA Toolkit.
  • Niclas Lindberg, Secretary General of the Swedish Library Association and member of the Management of Library Associations Section, will share information about how their library association has contacted and is collaborating with their government.

Event moderated by Loida Garcia-Febo, Webinar Series Coordinator, IFLA Governing Board Member, ALA Executive Board Member.

December 15, 2015

Time:

9am Central time (Chicago)

10am NYC

3pm London

4pm Stockholm

World clock: http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/

Link to access the webinar: coming soon.

The webinar will be recorded.

0 Responses to “Libraries, Advocacy and the Implementation of the 2030 Agenda”


Comments are currently closed.