Monthly Archive for September, 2012

ALCTS webinar: Demand-Driven Acquisition, Part 2

Date: October 3, 2012 All webinars are one hour in length and begin at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, and 2pm Eastern time. Part 1 will be held September 19, 2012. Description: A theoretical overview of how demand-driven acquisitions (DDA) would work as the primary means of building monographic […]

Read full post…

Berlin 10 Open Access Conference, Stellenbosch, South Africa: 6-7-8 November, 2012

Berlin 10 Open Access Conference, Stellenbosch, South Africa EARLY BIRD REGISTRATION EXTENDED UNTIL 30 SEPTEMBER 2012 We take pleasure in announcing that Early Bird Registration (ZAR 3 300,00) for the Berlin 10 Open Access Conference – to be held at the Wallenberg Research Centre, Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study (STIAS) […]

Read full post…

Please browse ACD 2012 Helsinki Open Session Documents!

Dear ACD enthusiast, Whereas you’ll still be able to access the ACD Open Session papers on the Helsinki Conference Website, we have created for you a special page on our blog to access the related powerpoint presentations. Please have a read here: Powerpoints Page    

Read full post…

IFLA WLIC 2014 = Lyon, France!

During the Closing Session in Helsinki Finland on 16 August, IFLA President Ingrid Parent officially announced the host location for the 2014 World Library and Information Congress: Lyon! After the announcement, Hubert Julien-Laferriere, Vice-président of Le Grand Lyon, told delegates: This is first an honor, because the World congress of […]

Read full post…

ALCTS webinar: Demand-Driven Acquisition, Part 1 (Sept. 19, 2012)

Date: September 19, 2012 All webinars are one hour in length and begin at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, and 2pm Eastern time. Part 2 will be held October 3, 2012. Description: This hour-long session, one of two parts, gives an overview of key concepts behind demand-driven acquisitions (DDA): […]

Read full post…

ACD Information Coordinator awarded 2012 IFLA Communicator Of The Year title!

Our Information Coordinator Jérôme Fronty received the award of COMMUNICATOR OF THE YEAR 2012 at the closing session of the WLIC in Helsinki for his work this year with our Section, including creating our blog to replace our newsletter. Congratulations on behalf of all members of the Standing Committee for […]

Read full post…

Please join and get a revival of ACD Open Session during 2012 WLIC in Helsinki!

  The Acquisition and Collection Development Committee Open Session at the WLIC in Helsinki on: “Treating Print in an Increasing Digital Collection: Issues, Dilemmas & Directions” on Tuesday, 14 August 2012 was a great success. Moderator and Programme Director Julia Gelfand introduced the topic: “With the emphasis of many library […]

Read full post…